top of page
Youth Connexion

NYW 2019: Meet the Organizing Committee

Planning for the second annual National Youth Week celebrations at the Richcraft Recreation Complex are underway!

This year, we will be profiling each member of the Organizing Committee so that you can get to know the people that are hard-at-work creating National Youth Week.

Nivetha is a member of the Organizing Committee and is responsible for collaborating with the other committee members in order to create, design, and deliver all of the events for National Youth Week 2019 at the Richcraft Recreation Complex.

1. First Name: Nivetha

2. School: Earl of March Secondary School

3. How did you hear about National Youth Week (NYW)?

I heard about NYW through my supervisor at Richcraft Recreation Complex when I was volunteering during their Christmas event. I thought it would be a fun experience, so I sent in my application!

4. What are your top interests/hobbies?

Some of my interests include; playing recreational soccer during the summer and reading books. I also enjoy helping around at the house and playing board games with friends

5. Why did you join the NYW Organizing Committee?

I had so much fun during the Christmas event, so I though this would be too! I gained many useful skills, such as teamwork and collaboration, and I wanted to use this opportunity to continue to develop these skills. I know that these skills will help me all throughout my career. I also love to work with kids and what better way to nurture that passion than to volunteer in the National Youth Week organizing committee at RRCK?

6. Fun/Random fact about yourself

I like to watch Ted-Ed videos about random subjects in my free time.

7. What are your career, or future, aspirations?

In the future, I want to become a software engineer and work at Cisco. I really hope to attend Waterloo, University of Toronto, or McGill for computer science. I have always had a passion for coding and computers, so I decided to pursue that passion as a future career. Although, there is still a possibility that I might become a different type of engineer. Some short-term goals include; procrastinating less and becoming more outgoing.

8. Pet peeve(s)

My biggest pet peeve is when people are rude, like interrupting or talking over other people and think that it is funny or "cool." Also, when people who stand in the middle of the hallway or walk really slowly. Especially when I am trying to get to class.

9. What are your goals for NYW 2019?

For NYW 2019, I hope to help make a lasting impact on the youth in Kanata and maybe encourage them to start volunteering at RRCK.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Instagram Social Icon
bottom of page